Australian Landscape Photography

‘Strike a light’

Tony Middleton’s storm chasing exploits and subsequent brilliant shots has inspired me to go hunting through some of mine……. This was from a storm back in Dec ’04 and was taken from the deck of my previous house on the edge of Dandenong Ranges National Park….looking towards the action over Melbourne. It was some show, 35 kms away. This is a 3 image blend,  not done particularly well but as each image was 20 seconds you get the idea of the amount of lightning strikes in a minute…..

lightning-RS

8 responses

  1. truenorthmark

    Waycool shot Andrew!!

    August 5, 2009 at 11:27 pm

  2. Tony Middleton

    I think recall this ‘event’ – was it umm…Dec.2 ? If so the northern suburbs and places like Greensborough in particular copped some big totals (flash flooding) and brilliant displays… If it’s this one I was in the top-end at the time with my best mate from Greensborough (perhaps that was the year before ? lol).

    Some impressive CG’s in this blended image Andrew – a pretty rare event to get such photogenic lighting south of the divide in Victoria..Perhaps 1-2 chances per yr at best.

    cool 🙂

    August 6, 2009 at 8:56 am

  3. Thanks Mark

    August 6, 2009 at 9:11 am

  4. Pretty close Tony, December 5th 2004 so your memory of weather events is very good!. We didn’t get a drop or a bolt where we were but plenty of places did. I can’t recall a storm like this since. I reckon a one in 20 year storm in Melbourne but could be wrong.

    August 6, 2009 at 9:15 am

    • Tony Middleton

      Damn ! 3 days out ! Yeah the storms were on ‘train tracks’ that night…I still recall the BoM radar images in my mind. It was an event more common to Brisbane than Melbourne.

      August 6, 2009 at 9:33 am

  5. chloe

    this is very intrigueing, what do you use to ‘blend’ your photographs
    (?)

    thanks for your kind words on my guest post (jamie paterson’s blog) 🙂

    August 8, 2009 at 11:16 am

    • Hi Chloe, use PS or other program (Paint Shop Pro), layer up 3 images that had the same composition and blend them by trialling the various functions on the layers pallet so that all layers are seen. Various masking techniques were also used.

      August 10, 2009 at 7:47 am

  6. My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .

    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because
    of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been
    using WordPress on numerous websites for about a year and am concerned
    about switching to another platform. I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

    March 3, 2013 at 4:12 am

Leave a Reply

