Australian Landscape Photography

The Cradle

This little glimpse was the best in 4 attempts at a sunset but that is the nature of Cradle Mountain. I’ve hiked right past it and not seen a thing on other  occasions as it was a blizzard in the middle of summer so I have nothing but respect for the place in it’s wildness.  The same can’t be said for the amount of tourists that head up there, so many now that you have to catch a bus into the place in the peak and they have converted an old airfield into a car park at the terminal, I reckon enough space for 1000+ cars!  All the more reason to go in the cooler months as you almost have the place to yourself and can go in and out as you please, although decent light opportunities are fleeting and getting to the locations is a trudge through snow. 

cradle1sm

10 responses

  1. I go there whenever I got Tassie to see my dad who has walked this area for years. Trying to get good light is a hard one. Nice shot though!

    September 18, 2009 at 4:20 pm

  2. It is a beautiful part of the world. Thanks very much Tim.

    September 21, 2009 at 7:24 am

  3. Tony Middleton

    Nice work Andrew – I like the muted light.

    September 22, 2009 at 10:20 pm

  4. Tony Middleton

    Nice work Andrew – I like the muted light.

    September 22, 2009 at 10:20 pm

  5. Ric

    Thanks for sharing this shot Andy. It is so good to see what the area looks like at this time of the year. I’m with you I would much prefer to see the place like this when you feel like you’re the only person alive.

    September 22, 2009 at 10:20 pm

  6. Thanks Tone

    September 23, 2009 at 8:38 am

  7. Thanks for commenting Ric. It is a beautiful and wild place, got to keep an eye on the weather as it can turn nasty pretty quickly but good to see it at it’s wildest.

    September 23, 2009 at 8:41 am

  8. I’ve always wanted to go to Tassy and Cradle Mt. It’s a bid disheartening to hear about the 1000 cars!
    How do you reckon someone used to WA’s north handle the cold!!
    Cheers
    Dave

    September 24, 2009 at 12:41 pm

  9. Certainly worth going Dave, just pick your times. I reckon that you might struggle a bit in the cold so don’t pack your shorts!

    September 24, 2009 at 1:46 pm

  10. Andrew, Thank you so much for the images of NZ you sent me, looks stunning and I may have to alter my plans so I can get there, but looks like an awesome track to do. Cheers.

    September 25, 2009 at 7:43 pm

Leave a Reply

