Australian Landscape Photography

Bugger Me

A coincidence occured last week that still has me thinking ‘what are the chances?’. I was travelling with my Dad up to Marree for a helicopter flight over lake Eyre and on the way home we stopped at a ghost town for a billy and to shoot some of the ruins. I was walking back to the car before heading back for another compostion (as per this post). This probably took an extra 3 minutes. On the way out of the ruins we come to a fork in the road where I noticed a 4wd pulling up for us to come through, it looked familiar for some reason……….and so did the driver. ‘Get f%^&%$’ was my comment to my dad ‘it’s Tony Middleton’. 1600km from home in the bloody desert, in a bloody ghost town, a familar face, bugger me. It was almost 1 year since my Dad and I met Tony stranded up at Wallaces Hut in the snow with a flat battery. Just goes to show that it is a small world. Good to see you again Tone.

12 responses

  1. Haha, that is a great story. Stranger things have happened!

    Your recent images are pretty sweet, by the way.

    June 3, 2010 at 1:09 pm

  2. Cheers Beau, strange things do happen out in the sticks

    June 3, 2010 at 2:06 pm

  3. truenorthmark

    Another good shot mate!

    That Tone gets around eh!

    June 3, 2010 at 3:35 pm

  4. Sure does Mark, but I guess that all of the ‘light chasers’ tend to have the wandering spirit.

    June 3, 2010 at 7:30 pm

  5. Tony Middleton

    haha – yeah I can appear anywhere… I recall seeing the suburu earlier but couldn’t see the number plate (gives a clue, ie Vic,SA etc) when I went past so thought nothing of it. Then at the intersection as you drove by I recognised you in the passenger seat and waved with a ‘Fugger me’ myself. We should have caught up for a meal and beer at the Prairie hotel later that night…
    Nice take on the not so ruined anymore ruins – cool detail.

    June 3, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    • Thanks mate, Yeah we should have caught up again but thought that you were heading east further….the number plate wasn’t legible anyway, covered in an inch of mud! This shot was from a part that was still ruined…..

      June 4, 2010 at 8:12 am

  6. Cool story,great image!

    June 4, 2010 at 4:27 pm

  7. Thanks Tim, just never know who you are going to bump into in the sticks.

    June 4, 2010 at 4:34 pm

  8. Nice one AB, rustic objects are always a great subject.

    June 5, 2010 at 10:25 pm

  9. Thanks Tom, I agree. Plenty of them up that way thats for sure

    June 6, 2010 at 4:54 pm

  10. Hi Andrew,

    That is a ripper of a story. Really enjoyed reading it. 🙂

    Jamie

    June 9, 2010 at 12:08 pm

  11. Thanks for stopping by Jamie. Glad that you enjoyed

    June 9, 2010 at 12:17 pm

Leave a Reply

