Australian Landscape Photography

All roads lead to…..the Waterhole

Image taken on my most recent adventure, to see lake Eyre full from the air. This shot was taken in between the big fella and Marree from 2000ft just off the Birdsville track. Off the right of the watertank are a few bullocks coming in for their daily water. This is tough country. I love it.  Had quite a bit of rain but still on the cusp of desert, not sure how the cattle survive in a bad year let alone a good one. Not sure if cattle should be here either to be honest, land is marginal at best and more suited to the roos and emus but the farmers persist….for now. Tough people.

16 responses

  1. I love the country out there. Did you manage to get a shot from directly above tank , would have made a great shot with those tracks.

    June 10, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    • I’ll have a look Merv, think that I might have got a different angle of the tank

      June 11, 2010 at 8:05 am

  2. truenorthmark

    Mate that is a cracker of a shot…your best yet I reckon…lovin the clouds, the shadows, the lines to the water hole, the depth, the blues in the sky…yep love it!

    June 11, 2010 at 12:06 am

    • Crikey, thanks Mark. Was contemplating adding it to my website but think that I might now based on those comments! Thanks mate

      June 11, 2010 at 8:07 am

  3. Tony Middleton

    Thats a very cool shot AB – great textures and lines !

    June 13, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    • Cheer Tone, one of those shots that has turned out a little better than first envisaged. Can work the other way too….

      June 14, 2010 at 7:53 pm

  4. Great capture AB

    June 16, 2010 at 9:39 pm

  5. Really gives you a feel for how wide open,sparse and flat the country is.
    I have often wondered about the wisdom of running livestock in this sort of country, hard way to make a buck!

    June 16, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    • Sure does Tim, I’m not sure of the wisdom but they must still make a buck or they’d have to leave the land I guess

      June 17, 2010 at 8:32 am

  6. Love your work Andrew! I’m pretty new to photography and seeing images like yours and other photographers like Christian really inspires me to keep learning. I hope you’ll drop by my new blog on occasion and offer some words of wisdom to help me get better!

    June 17, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    • Thanks Jo. Will certainly drop by and have a look at your work

      June 21, 2010 at 7:51 am

  7. Absolutely fantastic Andrew. You have capture the elements of the outback in this one perfectly and in the right way! Well done I really like this one.

    Cheers
    Dave

    June 22, 2010 at 6:05 pm

  8. Mate those tracks just suck you into the image. Fantastic!

    July 2, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    • Thanks David, this seems to be a popular image

      July 5, 2010 at 7:25 am

Leave a Reply

