Australian Landscape Photography

Silent Shadows

Had some good luck a few years ago with access to this property. Long story but was a mad rush in the car behind the farmer to get down there before sunset driving into the sun with dust flying everywhere. I literally had 5 minutes of light so was very busy and the heart was racing as I had to run for the last 500m. My wife reckoned that I looked like a 6ft 3 emu running across the plains into the sunset. Apart from my heartbeat, I couldn’t hear a sound as the shadows of the red clan pan grew larger and larger. I came back to the raw files of this shoot to find a compositon that I hadn’t processes with the thought of entering a competition crossing my mind. Whether I enter is another story but processing old images always brings back the memories surrounding the capture of the image in the first place.

14 responses

  1. Timeless Australian image.

    July 17, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    • Cheers Adrian. It can only be Australian really.
      Heard a rumour that the shack got blown away in a storm recently.

      July 18, 2010 at 5:16 pm

  2. Yep what Adrian said, real powerful Austalian image. Pity about the shack, it will live on on your blog!

    July 20, 2010 at 1:33 pm

  3. what an experience shooting out there. good to see you pulling more shots from the archives as well i like this one its different to most of the shots from out that way.

    Cheers

    Darren

    July 21, 2010 at 9:15 am

  4. Thanks Darren, it is certainly an experience. One of my favourite areas to photograph

    July 21, 2010 at 2:02 pm

  5. Tony Middleton

    great story Andrew, you are very correct about re-processing of older files, technology and our skills are ever evolving…some faster than others. lol

    July 26, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  6. Like this one Andrew screams outback Oz to me.

    As you and Tony said, our skills improve a little and we can make a lot of our old files look so much better. I think I’ve already shot enough images to keep me going for a lifetime.

    July 28, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    • Thanks Merv. Still has to be one of my favourites even though it was one of the first stiching efforts some 4 years ago.

      July 29, 2010 at 9:33 am

  7. Nice… I heard the owner charges $500 bucks to access his property. Is that right ??

    September 23, 2010 at 5:41 am

    • Correct Matt, if you are a pro they charge that but luckily I had something in common with the owner…….I heard that this was blown down recently and not sure if they have rebuilt

      September 23, 2010 at 8:04 am

      • Hey Mate

        I rang they guy up the other week and spoke to him about it being blown over but it definetly isn’t blown over he has just spent a heap of money bringing it back up to scratch but he was saying that they are shooting mad max 3 and it will be moved for about 6-12 months while they are shooting but also the Hotel is gone off the roof and it is now just a plain red roof.

        September 27, 2010 at 7:34 am

  8. Hey Darren, thanks for the info mate. Should get a bunch of us up there when it’s back to minimise the $ damage

    September 27, 2010 at 8:07 am

Leave a Reply

